Boy Scout Programs

March 2017

Nuclear Science

Saturday, March 11, from 2:00pm – 6:00pm

Program Fee: $24 per scout, $12 per adult, 1 adult free per 10 scouts

Explore how nuclear reactors work, how we can use energy created through nuclear science, build tools that measure and track radiation, and more!

Prerequisites: 1, 2a, 8

Last Day to Register: Thursday, March 2

April 2017

Robotics

Saturday, April 1, from 10:00am – 1:00pm

Program Fee: $18 per scout, $9 per adult, 1 adult free per 10 scouts

Build and program robotic creations and compete in high tech tournaments.

Prerequisites: 1, 7

Last Day to Register: Thursday, March 23

Sustainability

Sunday, April 9, from and 2:00pm – 6:00pm

Program Fee: $24 per scout, $12 per adult, 1 adult free per 10 scouts

Learn how to contribute to a sustainable environment through conservation and waste reduction.

Prerequisites: 1, 2 (Water, Food, Energy B or C, Stuff), 5, 6

Last Day to Register: Thursday, March 30

Plant Science

Sunday, April 23, from 2:00pm – 5:00pm

Program Fee: $18 per scout, $9 per adult, 1 adult free per 10 scouts

Become a botanist for the day as you explore horticulture, agriculture, and the MOSI Back Woods Preserve!

Prerequisites: 6, 7, 8

Last Day to Register: Thursday, April 13

May 2017

Inventing

Sunday, May 7, from 2:00pm – 5:00pm

Program Fee: $18 per scout, $9 per adult, 1 adult free per 10 scouts

From idea to patent, discover how inventions affect our daily lives while creating a working prototype of your own invention.

Prerequisites: 1, 3c, 8, 9

Last Day to Register: Thursday, April 27

Oceanography

Saturday, May 13, from 10:00am – 3:00pm

Program Fee: $30 per scout, $20 per adult, 1 adult free per 10 scouts

Dive into Oceanography with MOSI staff through hands-­on experiments and demonstrations. This program meets off­site. Transportation is not included and carpooling is strongly encouraged.

Prerequisites: 2, 5, 8

Last Day to Register: Thursday, May 4

June 2017

Emergency Preparedness Camp-In

Saturday, June 3rd 7pm to Sunday, June 4th 11am

Program Fee: $42 per scout, $24 per adult, 1 adult free per 10 scouts

A hurricane is headed towards the Tampa Bay area and you are setting up a shelter at MOSI! Learn how to prepare for and survive a natural disaster, as you spend the night at a mock hurricane shelter and emergency center.

The camp-in includes the Emergency Preparedness merit badge workshop, light snack, sleeping at MOSI, breakfast, an IMAX film, parking, a MOSI 2017 Fun Patch for scouts, and general admission to MOSI.

Prerequisites: 1, 2c, 6, 7, 8, 9

Last Day to Register: Thursday, May 18

Environmental Science

Saturday, June 17, from 10:00am – 1:00pm

Program Fee: $18 per scout, $9 per adult, 1 adult free per 10 scouts

Learn how you can protect the environment as you learn about ecosystems, different types of pollution, and conservation efforts.

Prerequisites: 1, 2, 3e, 6

Last Day to Register: Thursday, June 8








Register Now!